Tuesday, July 29, 2008

One more post for the night...

http://thisdayinwrestlinghistory.blogspot.com

Some incredible genius thought this idea up, and it all starts Friday, so don't miss it biotches!

YOU MUST BE FUCKING KIDDING ME!!

Freddie Prinze Jr. has joined the creative team for the WWE.

I KID YOU NOT!

I was just browsing through Scott Keith's blog and saw this, and apparently it was announced yesterday that the newest member of the writing team is Prinze. I can't believe it.

YouTube Roundup: My Personal Favorite Movie Scenes - Volume One

Just a few of the movie scenes that make me love film so much. Enjoy!

*NOTE* Don't worry...no spoilers.

LET'S START WITH A MOVIE I WATCHED LAST WEEK, SWINGERS, AND THE GREAT PHONE CALL SCENE.


THE TANGO SCENE FROM "SCENT OF A WOMAN"


LUKE HAS JUST BEEN TOLD THAT HIS MOTHER HAS PASSED AWAY, SO HE GOES TO HIS BUNK AND SINGS...FROM COOL HAND LUKE, A HEARTBREAKING SCENE


REHABILITATED?


ALMOST FAMOUS, TINY DANCER BUS SCENE...CLASSIC

Monday, July 28, 2008

Cold Turkey

ONE WEEK NICOTINE FREE!!

Although, I will admit, after meals is still a very tempting time, cause thats when a cig always tasted the best.

Sunday, July 27, 2008

MY WEEK IN FILM

Before I begin, let me just say what a fantastic week for me in the movies. Hard to pick the worst one this week. However, due to the bronchitis, also not a very productive week, as I only managed to squeeze in six movies.

THE LIST
-Network 1976 - Sidney Lumet
-Alice Doesn't Live Here Anymore 1974 - Martin Scorsese
-Step Brothers 2008 - Adam McKay
-As Good As It Gets 1997 - James L. Brooks
-Swingers 1996 - Doug Liman
-Ferris Bueller's Day Off 1986 - John Hughes

THE BEST
SWINGERS
I saw this one years ago in my younger days, remembered liking it and so during my years of obsessive DVD purchasing I picked it up for a cheap price and haven't viewed it, until this week. If you're into low budget movies independent flicks then this one is for you, although by looking at it you'd never guess it was low budget, as the film looks great. John Favreau stars (and also wrote) in this hilarious flick, also starring Vince Vaughn, before he whored out to Hollywood and Jen Aniston, and the pair are "so money." As you view this film you really get the sense that Favreau knows a lot about film as minor spoofs of Reservoir Dogs and Goodfellas, are carried out for us. If you're not a fan of Vaughn, but you haven't seen this movie, then give him one more chance because he is truly unforgettable in this role. The dialogue between Favreau and Vaughn is so genuine and real, and this isn't the type of laugh out loud, roll on the floor comedies, but rather, a clever, hip comedy that is really really good. Check it out, if only to see Mikey (Favreau) spend five minutes with a girl, get her number and then return home to call her only to get the machine, after six or seven back to back phone calls the comedy escalates, as you're laughing at the sheer ring of the phone, and the impending doom that Mikey is about to bring on himself.

THE WORST
NETWORK
I remember watching a special feature on the Magnolia DVD, saying something about P.T. Anderson showing this film to the crew, before they began shooting that movie, and thinking to myself that I'd really like to see it. So when I found it on the Instant Viewing portion of the Netflix website, I jumped at the chance to view this "classic". A classic it was not, and I was really disapointed, because I really wanted to like it. My biggest complaint with this flick is the fact that once the story is established and we start to get into the meat and potatoes of the film, all the actors seem to be outdoing each other. As Faye Dunaway makes a five minute ranting monologue, then we go to Robert Duvall yelling and acting his ass off and making another monlogue. Then of course you've got several rants from Peter Finch and, of course, William Holden chimes in with a few raves of his own. I'm not saying that the acting is bad, it's actually quite good. But...and this may sound wierd...I think it's too good. It's such good acting and these actors are trying so hard to really pour their hearts out, that the realism of the film is lost. I'm not sure if that makes sense, but it makes sense to me and that's all that matters. And really this film wasn't that bad, it just gets voted the worst by default.

THE REST
Coming in a close second behind Swingers, was As Good As It Gets. There's so much story to sink your teeth into here, that it's impossible to be bored. First of all, you've got Nicholson as obsessive compulsive Melvin, who doesn't walk on cracks and locks and unlocks his door five times as he enters and exits his apartment. He goes to the same restaurant everyday, where Helen Hunt (his waitress, Carol) waits on him. They begin their small talk, which eventually leads to serious talk and we go from there. Then you've got homosexual neighbor Simon (a fantastic Greg Kinnear) living across the hall from Melvin, and his dog, Verdel. After Simon is attacked the dog gets pushed on to Nicholson, who regretfully must watch him for a couple weeks, as Simon recovers. The anti-gay, anti-dog Melvin eventually becomes attatched to the dog and we go from there. And then, through a simple twist of fate, they all end up on a road trip to visit Simon's parents. Great movie, big thumbs up. I loved it, I love Nicholson, I love Kinnear and all of the acting was top notch and, as I said, there's so much story here that you just get caught up in it all. Check it out.

If I rated movies on a "hilarious scale", then Step Brothers would probably be the best movie of the year. What a hilariously funny comedy, with Will Ferrell and John C. Reilly being cut loose for ninety minutes and basically improving. Rather than me write a whole mess about this one just read some of these lines from the flick and you'll be able to tell whether or not this is your kind of comedy. It is extremely offensive and vulgar, so if you don't like comedies like that, then it's definitely not for you. Think Anchorman and The 40 Year Old Virign's bastard son, and you get Step Brothers.

"Martha Stewart, Oprah, your wife. You gotta fuck one, kill one and marry one, who do you pick?"

"I'm gonna fill this pillowcase with bars of soap and beat the shit out of you"

"You voice is a combination of Fergie and Jesus"

Ferris Bueller's Day Off is every kid's dream. And that's the appeal, because we can all relate to what it was like to be a kid and hate going to school and just wanting to stay home and fuck around. Ferris lets all of our childhood dreams come to life, as he skips school and ends up having the best day of his life, all the way up to the edge of your seat climax, as he races against his parents to get back home. Great movie and a modern classic. How can anyone not like this movie? It's a lot of fun.

When you think of Martin Scorsese, you think of Taxi Driver, Goodfellas, The Departed, Raging Bull, real tough guy movies. Well, can you believe, in his early days he actually directed a movie about a widowed woman, who hits the road to find a job, so that she can survive and provide for her twelve year old son? Well he did, and he did a fantastic job. And so does everybody in this movie, including Ellen Burstyn, Diane Ladd and Kris Kristofferson. Alice (Burstyn) ends up waiting tables at Mel's Diner with fellow waitress Flo...sound familiar? That's right, this is the movie that kicked off the TV show Alice. It was a surprise to me too. I have a hard time relating Martin Scorsese to the phrase "Kiss my grits!"

Til' next Sunday...Have a great week!

Andrew
7/27/2008

Friday, July 25, 2008

Youtube Roundup: Matt Damon, Family Guy and that hilarious Mick Jagger

Let me kick this off by saying that I've had a pretty good bout of bronchitis this week, thus enabling me from blogging as much as I would've wanted to. But I'm better and ready to send you more terrific, funny, disgusting, hilarious links from the world of YouTube.

TRAILER MASH-UP: BROKEBACK IN BLACK


THIS MAKES ME LAUGH SO MUCH. MICK JAGGER IS ONE SILLY FUCK. AND WHAT THE FUCK IS HE WEARING??


AFTER SEEING THE DARK KNIGHT I REALLY REALIZED WHAT A FINE ACTOR HEATH LEDGER WAS, AND WHAT A TRUE LOSS TO THE ACTING COMMUNITY WAS SUFFERED. HERE'S A GREAT VIDEO SOMEONE MADE IN TRIBUTE TO HIM.


MATT DAMON DOES MATTHEW MCCONAUGHEY


BEEN WATCHING A LOT OF FAMILY GUY WHILE I WAS SICK. HERE'S A GREAT MOMENT FROM THE SHOW. IT'S A PUKE-A-THON!

Sunday, July 20, 2008

Bashed!

Sounded like a pretty dull pay per view tonight. But I'd still like to see the Michaels/Jericho match. And hey, CM Punk holds on to the strap. That's good.

FULL RESULTS

-Michelle McCool def. Natalya Neidhart to win the Divas title. (Great, yet another women's title to waste more time on WWE TV)

-Curt Hawkins & Zach Ryder def. John Morrison & The Miz, Finlay & Hornswoggle and Jesse & Festus in a Fatal Four Way to win the WWE Tag Team Titles.

-Mark Henry def. Tommy Dreamer to retain the ECW Championship (Anyone care? Anyone at all?)

-Shelton Benjamin def. Matt Hardy to win the U.S. Title.

-CM Punk and Batista wrestle to a Double DQ (Punk retains)

-Chris Jericho def. Shawn Michaels (Sounds like a fairly bloody brawl, that I want to see)

-JBL def. John Cena in a NYC Parking Lot Brawl

-Triple H def. Edge to reatain the WWE Championship (Saw that one coming, now we can prep Edge for the big pregnancy angle that it looks like theyre starting with him and Vickie. OH BOY!!!...note the sarcasm)

Andrew
7/20/2008

MY WEEK IN FILM

The Dark Knight smashes records and grosses $155 million in it's opening weekend, but is it the best movie I saw this week?

Let's see...

THE LIST
-The Beach 2000 - Danny Boyle
-Grace Is Gone 2007 - James C. Strouse
-Assault On Precinct 13 1976 - John Carpenter
-Father of the Bride 1991 - Charles Shyer
-The Dark Knight 2008 - Christopher Nolan
-The Tenant 1976 - Roman Polanski
-The Blair Witch Project 1999 - Daniel Myrick & Eduardo Sanchez
-The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers 2002 - Peter Jackson*
-The Night of the Hunter 1955 - Charles Laughton

THE BEST
TIE - ASSAULT ON PRECINCT 13 and GRACE IS GONE
What an absolutely fabulous week for me in the movie scene. I really tried to pick just one, but when it came down to it, I had to call it a tie. Let's start out with Assault on Precinct 13, shall we.

I had about ninety minutes to kill the other night so I sat down and decided to knock off Assault On Precinct 13, and man, what a flick. You start out with one rookie policeman, add in two secretaries and three death row inmates and you got the group of men who are defending lonely old precinct 13, as it prepares to close it's doors for good. On the outside, you got a band of about thirty or forty hoods, ready and willing to do anything they can to kill everyone inside and bring 13 to the ground. Give all of this, that John Carpenter twist and you've got one hell of a movie. I mean just seeing the inmates and the lone officer team up to try and fight for their lives, is pretty cool in itself. It's really a whole lot of fun at the movies and I feel myself slowly turning into a John Carpenter fan.

Grace Is Gone was the first movie to bring the tears out of me in a very long time. Getting ready to go to work one day, Stanley Phillips, is surprised as his doorbell rings, and two military officers stand there and inform him, that his wife Grace...is gone. She died while in combat, and now Stanley must figure out how to tell his two young daughters, one 12 and the other 8. So one day, while driving, on a whim, he decides to take them to Enchanted Gardens, this movies equivalent to Disney World. And that's the movie, plain and simple, we follow this family as the travel, and Stan wrestles with trying to break the horrible news to his two young daughters. We see this family grow closer together as they are forced to go on living without Grace. The most heartbreaking parts of the movie are when we see Stan, on numerous occasions, call his own answering machine from the road, just so that he can hear the voice of his departed wife.

THE WORST
THE BEACH
Even in paradise nothing is perfect. I guess that's the message that Danny Boyle is trying to get across to us, as he truly disapoints and blatantly misuses the acting talents of DiCaprio. One night while lying in his bed, DiCaprio is visited by Daffy (Robert Carlysle, in another terrible misuse of great acting skills), who tells him of a real life paradise on Earth, a beach, on an island all by its lonesome. So DiCaprio, and two pals decide to go looking for the beach. They eventually find it, along with a merry band of inhabitants. They realize that a small community has been formed there and they want desperately to be a part of it. So all is well, until the leader of the group (Tilda Swinton) finds out that Mr. DiCaprio has made a copy of the map. That, along with a splash of infidelity and a shark attack, lead to the downfall of this beach community. This was really hard to get through and I found myself badly wanting to switch it off several times, and not doing so for the simple fact of wanting to see all of Boyle's films. Oh, Danny, what a shame that you made such a terrible movie.

THE REST
Shall we discuss the Dark Knight??? Okay. I can sum up the greatness of the Dark Knight in five words...HEATH LEDGER IS THE JOKER. Take Ledger or the Joker out of this film, and you don't have a whole lot left. When Ledger passed away, I said to myself, "What a shame, he was a good actor and I'll miss seeing him in new movies." Today I say "What a terrible shame, he was a brilliant actor and the fact that we'll never see him grace another picture is almost enough to bring a tear to your eyes." Ledger as the Joker, crafted every single word of dialogue with such careful consideration. Every cackle carried out to a tee. Every motion and every step carefully thought out. I seriously can't see anyone else being able to give such life and such brilliance to the Clown Prince. Everyone else did a fine job, but everytime that the Joker wasn't on the screen I found myself wanting more and nearly salivating to see what he was going to do next. Probably ONE OF the best performances I've ever seen in a movie.

I had only seen it once before, but allow me to say, that The Blair Witch Project is a truly creepy film and a very good one too. You all know the story, so no need for me to go over it. But, in the tradition of Cloverfield, we see everything as filmed to look like camcorder footage. What truly adds to the freakiness of this one is the fact, that some of the scariest moments in the film, we are totally left in the dark, and forced to use our imaginations to decide what is going on. I recommend this one on a Saturday night, with a couple other horror flicks and some popcorn. Good times.

Roman Polanski, directs and stars in The Tenant, a movie that I thought looked very intriguing. That turned out to be quite the bore. It's basically Rosemary's Baby without the devil and the rape scene. Polanski plays a Polish born man moving into a French apartment house, just several days after the previous tenant jumped out of the window to her death. Now, Polanski, begins to understand why she commited suicide and starts to contemplate it himself. Stay clear of this one, as it's really a drawn out affair, with very little payoff at the end.

The Father of the Bride, was your typical Steve Martin comedy, with a little more heart to it. I had never seen this one before and thought that it was your average comedy. I'm a fan of Diane Keaton and thought Martin Short was nothing short of hilarious. That's it.

I hope you are all familiar with the great Robert Mitchum, because he was one hell of an actor. And he shows off that acting muscle in The Night of the Hunter. He plays a deranged preacher, who has a fetish for widows with money, and strikes gold when he comes upon an outlaws wife. With the tattoos of LOVE across one set of knuckles and HATE across the other, he plays off as a gentleman for the townspeople, however, truly only wanting the money that the outlaw once stole. Who knows the whereabouts of the loot? The outlaws two young children, and Mitchum will stop at nothing to get it out of them. Mitchum is really the only great thing about this one, as most of the movie is very slow, with not a whole lot happening at times. Worth a look for a great Robert Mitchum performance, however.

'Till next week.

Andrew
7/20/2008



Saturday, July 19, 2008

Speaking of Comics...

...Who Watches the Watchmen?

http://www.empireonline.com/video/watchmen/

Makes me really want to read it.

Numero Uno

The Dark Knight is currently sitting in the #1 spot on the IMDB Top 250 Movies of All Time, de-throning the Godfather from that position. I've been visiting IMDB for nearly ten years and I have never seen the Godfather out of that spot. Pretty unbelievable.

Note: I'll be speaking on the Dark Knight tomorrow in the "My Week In Film" post. Tune IN!

Monday, July 14, 2008

Youtube Roundup: Pulp Muppets, Shawn Michaels and a disgusting set of biceps

Youtube Roundup for the new week. Enjoy the vids kids.

JASON MRAZ "I'M YOURS" - HEARD THIS TUNE ON THE RADIO THE OTHER NIGHT AND CALL ME A PUSSY, BUT I DIG IT. YOU CAN CUT THE VID AT AROUND 4:28, THATS THE END OF THE SONG.


TRAILER MASH UP: PULP MUPPETS


SHAWN MICHAELS FLIPS OUT - THIS CRACKED ME UP. HAVE A LOOK.


GOLDBERG MACHINES - CAN YOU IMAGINE HOW LONG IT TOOK TO SET THESE THINGS UP, GET A FUCKING LIFE...BUT COOL THOUGH...QUITE COOL.


THIS IS FUCKING SICK. THIS GUY GOT WHAT HE DESERVED.


ANDREW
7/14/2008

The Dark Premiere

http://www.people.com/people/article/0,,20212519,00.html?xid=rss-yahooheadlines

Interesting words from Michael Caine and Christian Bale on Heath Ledger's, Joker performance.

RAW is Average

Another week and another Raw leave me with mixed feelings on the show.

THE GOOD
-Again, I have to commend them for continuing to put undercard guys on the program. Paul London, Jamie Noble and Snitsky. And even sticking Cryme Tyme, Dibiase and Rhodes into the main event. Very nice to see.
-Speaking of the main event...not a bad one this week, as John Cena & Cryme Tyme vs. JBL, Ted Dibiase and Cody Rhodes.
-I like the fact that no matter how many boos Cena gets they continue to stick it out and not turn him heel. And he continues to deliver great promos and increasingly better in-ring work.
-Kane "Where's Punk!!" Santino Marella "Have you checked the Pepsi machine?" That got a big laugh from me.

THE BAD
-Don't even get me started on JBL's homicide on Cena by running him over with a car. Please!
-Can we at least put a little bit of faith in CM Punk and have him main event the show?
-I'm very sceptical about the Kane storyline, as I see it being a long drawn out ordeal and having very little payoff.
-What was the point of Rhodes and Dibiase berating Duggan? And can we give it up on 'ol Hacksaw already?

Looking forward to Jericho and Michaels at the Bash, and hopefully the World title matches will at least produce somewhat good bouts.

See ya next week

MY WEEK IN FILM

Due to a fucking piece of shit for a computer, I didn't get to put this up, as planned, last night, so here we are. And, by the way, the computer is fixed and set up with a new firewall and anti-virus, of which is supposed to be the best free PC protection on the net...

http://www.comodo.com

In addition to the new security, I'm trying to run the computer on Firefox for basic operations, such as blog maintenance.

Here we go...

MY WEEK IN FILM
7/6/2008 through 7/13/2008
THE LIST
-American Pie 1999 - Paul Weitz
-Deconstructing Harry 1997 - Woody Allen
-Angel Heart 1987 - Alan Parker
-The Departed 2006 - Martin Scorsese
-Children of Men 2006 - Alfonso Cuaron
-The Air I Breathe 2007 - Jieho Lee
-Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring 2001 - Peter Jackson*

*Film is not considered for best or worst of the week, considering I have seen it before and watched for the sole purpose of viewing the IMDB Top 250.

THE BEST
THE AIR I BREATHE
Mr. Jieho Lee makes his directorial debut, and let me say, that it is an impressive one. In the tradition of 21 Grams and Crash, we meet a group of four strangers who are drawn together in a series of unforseeable circumstances. Brendan Fraser, Sarah Michelle Gellar, Kevin Bacon and Forest Whitaker, star in four small tales of fate and chance. Gotta say, this was a great movie, that I came upon by chance on the Netflix instant viewing portion of their site and was not disapointed at all. Believe it or not even Gellar turns in a good performance and Fraser stunned me and showed some serious acting muscle as the man who can see mere moments into the future. Whitaker as the down on his luck, stuck in a dead end job and desperate man and Bacon as a doctor who seeks rare blood. Definitely check this one out and enjoy it, because it's a great film.

THE WORST
AMERICAN PIE
There are some comedies that can be extremely crude, while at the same time being clever (The 40-Year Old Virgin, for example). American Pie, however, is not one of them. I mean, c'mon folks, I live in a college town, so if I really wanted to see guys jerking off into glasses of beer, a girl telling me of her sexual escapades at band camp and a guy fucking a pie, I could probably go down on Main Street and see it live and in color. I do not, however wish to see that, and certainly not when I sit down for a film. I guess I really brought this on myself, but seeing how American Pie is considered a modern comedy classic, I decided to take the journey one more time, and one more time I was appaled and not impressed with this garbage. Give me Clerks, Caddyshack or Knocked Up anyday, over this one. Thumbs way down.

THE REST
The Departed comes in really really close behind The Air I Breathe, as I finally got a chance to see the film that finally won Scorsese an Oscar. And while it may not be as good as some of his other films, it is certainly a treat. The last 30-40 minutes of this one will have you gripping the edge of your couch, as you watch everything unravel. A cop (DiCaprio) goes undercover into the crime underworld, while a thug (Damon) goes undercover into the police force. Nicholson plays the extremely intimidating crime lord, with rat Dicaprio as his new right hand man. The plot really thickens as things start to unravel and suspicions are raised. Wahlberg and Alec Baldwin turn in good performances as well.

Another great Woody Allen movie, in my opinion, in Deconstructing Harry. Tells the tale of Harry Block who has just finished a book loosley based on his life and the women in it are not pleased. It all culminates on the road, as Block is headed to his old alma mater to be honored, along with his son, a dear friend and a hooker he met the night before. Allen's classic paranoia is in full swing and Allen entusiasts will be pleased.

Angel Heart delivers nothing to write home about, with the exception of the last ten minutes, which is quite the little swerve. Rourke turns in an acceptable performance and De Niro is just sppoky as Louis Cypher (hint hint).

I watched Children of Men for the second time, since I saw it in the theatres. I remember when I saw it in the theatre the hype far out measured my actual opinion of the movie. And I have to say a second viewing didn't do too much more for me. Now that's not to say I hated it, becasue there are some great things about it, such as Owen's performance and the stunning cinemtography as the filmmakers paint a very bleak and dreary futuristic United Kingdom. And I have to mention the long camera takes, that the were captured that are just beautiful. But the general plot to me is not a very fulfilling one. I wonder, what Cuaron is trying to say with this film. A future without children is not very much of a future? In the future we see a world gone to hell, and are forced to contemplate if it's because of the departure of children, or maybe, the lack of youngns' is just the tip of the iceberg. We see an infant carried from an abandoned building and everyone gets their first look at it, and all of the violence stops for just a moment only to begin again. Are they trying to tell us something with that action? There are many theories and many views but a child-less 2029 doesn't do a whole lot for me, I'm sorry.

Lord of the Rings continues to be eye pleasing, as well as delivering a dozen different other forms of awesomness. Definitely a modern classic.

See ya next week.

Andrew
7/14/2008

Sunday, July 13, 2008

You Got Swerved

http://www.ew.com/ew/article/0,,20206341,00.html

The Top 20 movies with twist endings. Pretty cool list, but watch out for spoilers.

Saturday, July 12, 2008

Netflix

So one of my birthday gifts this year (yes, today is my birthday...24, if you must know) was the restarting of my Netflix, which I've been dying to have back for a very long time.

Here's what the Queue looks like so far.

1. The Tenant
2. Grace is Gone
3. Alice Doesn't Live Here Anymore
4. Carnal Knowledge
5. Down by Law
6. The 400 Blows
7. Your Friends & Neighbors
8. Be Kind Rewind
9. Funny Games
10. George Washington

That's not to say that this order won't change, but as of this moment, that's what it looks like. I'll be letting you know what pops in and out of my Netflix, as well as what I think of those particular movies.

Andrew
7/12/2008

Tuesday, July 8, 2008

And the OSCAR goes to.....



I am so there!

RAW is EH

Well I made it through another full episode of Raw last night and I guess it was okay. Here's the breakdown.

THE GOOD
-CM Punk has made it 8 days with the World title...Here's to eight more.
-Nice to see them using some of the smaller guys, especially Cryme Tyme, who they're pairing up with Cena. Also kudos for Charlie Haas, Snitsky and Santino Marella.
-Really good interview from Chris Jericho against Michaels. If this was a fresh feud I'd be way into it, but it's just a re-hashing of 2004.

THE BAD
-Kane is heel again huh? Anyone care?
-No tag team champs? Let's get these titles a little more RAW recognition and use them. Start a Cryme Tyme/Dibiase-Rhodes feud.
-The Divas. Ok, we know they'll never get rid of these women, but I say let's just sack the woman's title and use the women for eye candy. Thats a total waste of TV time.

So thus far the Great American Bash looks allright.
-Triple H vs. Edge
-Shawn Michaels vs. Chris Jericho
-CM Punk vs. Batista

Batista's coming out with the World title or I'll eat my couch.

YouTube Roundup - Coens, Zack & Miri and the pizza guy gets a show

One thing that I enjoy doing when I get bored is cruising YouTube and just going nuts. In surfing the 'Tube, I always find a bunch of interesting videos that I would like to share, be it movie trailers, music videos, tribute vids, wrestling related stuff or just whacky nothingness. So I says to myself, I say "Self, why not start slapping some of these vids up on the blog, so that other people can bask in my YouTube delight" So here we are. I'll try to do this like once a week, or so.

BOB ROSS SPOOF - I THINK THIS IS HILARIOUS


BURN AFTER READING - THE NEW FILM DUE OUT LATER THIS YEAR, FROM THE COEN BROS.


ZACK AND MIRI MAKE A PORNO TEASER TRAILER - NEW KEVIN SMITH FILM DUE OUT HALLOWEEN 08


THE SPIDER HOUSE RULES - TRAILER MASH UP


GIRL ANSWERS THE DOOR FOR A PIZZA GUY IN HER BIKINI - I CHUCKLED AT IT...I DONT KNOW: *WARNING SCANTILLY CLAD WOMAN*

Sunday, July 6, 2008

You say you want a Revolution...

So I start a blog and a chain begins...I'm digging it.

THE LLOG
http://thellog.blogspot.com/

JEFF-NESS
http://jeffness-jwh.blogspot.com/

THE VIEW FROM BEHIND MY EYES by LORI BETH
http://behindloriseyes.blogspot.com/

Thought I'd share this with you

This picture made me smile...

MY WEEK IN FILM

So instead of coming to the blog every single time I watch a movie and writing a review of that movie, thus spending two and sometimes three seperate occasions a day sitting here typing, I've decided to do a weekly breakdown of the films that I watch during the week, every Sunday night. I'll showcase a list of the films that I watched in that week, the best movie, the worst and reasons for why I they are such and then a jumble at the end of what I thought of the rest. Sound good? Good!

6/30/2008 through 7/6/2008
-Before the Devil Knows You're Dead 2007 - Sidney Lumet
-Cassandra's Dream 2007 - Woody Allen
-One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest 1975 - Milos Forman
-Hot Fuzz 2007 - Edgar Wright
-Zelig 1983 - Woody Allen
-The Purple Rose of Cairo 1985 - Woody Allen
-Boys Don't Cry 1999 - Kimberly Peirce
-The Prophecy 1995 - Gregory Widen

THE BEST
ONE FLEW OVER THE CUCKOO'S NEST
I can't even begin to count the number of so called "classics" that I have watched that, for my money, simply did not live up to the hype. So I pop in Cuckoo's Nest the other night, expecting something grand, as I've heard nothing short of extraordinary things about this film, and I was not disapointed. You got Randall MacMurphy (Nicholson) being sent to a mental institution from the local prison farm, to be evaluated. The head's of the loony bin think he's faking it to get a lighter ride and he pretty much is. But while there, he meets and makes friends with a marvelous cast of insane characters, including Brad Dourif, Christopher Lloyd and Danny DeVito. It all makes for an incredibly fun movie and just a flat out great film. I would advise everyone to go and rent this, if you haven't seen it or if you have, pop it in again.

THE WORST
ZELIG
It pains me to say this, but yes, a Woody Allen movie was the worst expierence I had this week in front of my television. I just could not get into this one at all. And what's more surprising is that Woody himself was actually in this, which is usually a guaranteed hit in my eyes. Zelig is a mockumentary of Leonard Zelig, a man with a rare disorder, that transforms him into the race or type of person that he is around at any given time. For example, if he is in the presence of an african american, he turns black. In the presence of an obese man, then he himself begins to gain weight. I found it very un-funny and dull. I'm usually chomping at the bit to see a new Woody movie that I haven't yet, but this one left me very bored and very unpleased. What's even more surprising is that I go to IMDB and see that it's rated like in the seven range. WHAT??? I do not get the appeal. Hands down worst movie of the week.

THE REST
Hot Fuzz would have to come in second behind Cuckoo's Nest. I found it very funny and am amazed at how Edgar Wright and Simon Pegg can take a genre and make a great film out of that genre and spoof it at the same time. Not as good as Shaun of the Dead, but a good film nonetheless.

In other Woody news, Cassandra's Dream was an average thriller, but no Match Point and the Purple Rose of Cairo was a very fun film. Jeff Daniels and Mia Farrow were brilliant together in this film, where we learn that no matter what happens in life, there's always a good movie there to fall back on and start smiling again.

My wife suckered me into watching Boys Don't Cry, and while Hilary Swank played a very convincing young man and Chloe Sevigny turned out a great performance, I still wasn't astounded by this glorified Lifetime movie.

The Prophecy scared me as a youngster, but this time around I was able to keep my fears in check for this very un-scary movie. I really love Christopher Walken in this one as he is funny and bad ass at the same time. Eric Stoltz and Elias Koteas are pretty good to, as an angel and a cop, respectively. However, this isn't one that I'd be rumaging through the Wal-Mart bins to get my hands on, but wouldn't be surprised to find myself catching half way through on cable and finishing it off.

AND...we've already discussed Before the Devil Knows You're Dead, in an earlier post.

So all in all not a bad week. A perfect ten for One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest and a very big thumbs up for Hot Fuzz. And I'm three films closer to being able to say I've seen everything Woody, but after Zelig, not sure how happy I'll be to say that. Just kidding....Woody rocks my world.

See ya on the flip side.

Andrew
7/6/2008

Friday, July 4, 2008

The Perfefct DVD?

Here's the listing for the Mr. Perfect DVD due out 9/9/2008

Disc 1
Perfection
Twin City Origins
Building a Path
AWA
Mr. PerfectLiving up to His Name
Intercontinental Champion
The Prankster
Commentator
WCW
Return to the WWE
A Sudden Tragedy
Hall of Fame
The Perfect Legacy Lives On

Curt Hennig vs. Eddie GilbertMadison Square Garden (21/11/82)

Curt Hennig & Scott Hall vs. Steve Regal & Jimmy GarvinAWA Championship Wrestling (26/11/85)

Mr. Perfect Hall of Fame InductionWWE Hall of Fame (31/03/07)

“Rap is Crap” Music Video

Vignettes
Billiards October 1, 1988
Golf – Perfect Putt October 1, 1988
Darts October 8, 1988
Bowling October 8, 1988
Chess October 15, 1988
Basketball October 15, 1988
Ping Pong October 28, 1989
Diving November 4, 1989
Golf – Perfect Drive November 4, 1989
Horseshoes November 24, 1989
Baseball with Wade Boggs December 26, 1992
Football – Perfect Passer with Steve Jordan February 13, 1993
Basketball with Felton Spencer February 27, 1993
Hockey with Mike Modano March 13, 1993

Stories
Curt Loved Karaoke
Lifestyles of Mr. Perfect

Disc 2
60-Minute Time Limit AWA World Heavyweight Championship MatchCurt Hennig vs. Nick BockwinkelAWA Championship Wrestling (15/11/86)

Curt Hennig vs. Terry TaylorCommentary By: Michael Cole & Mick FoleyWrestleFest (31/07/88)

Mr. Perfect vs. Bret HartMadison Square Garden (24/04/89)

WWE Championship MatchMr. Perfect vs. Hulk HoganMadison Square Garden (15/01/90)

WWE Intercontinental Championship Match with Special Referee Roddy PiperMr. Perfect vs. The Texas TornadoMadison Square Garden (24/11/90)

WWE Intercontinental Championship MatchBret Hart vs. Mr. PerfectSummerSlam (26/08/91)

WWE Intercontinental Championship MatchMr. Perfect vs. Shawn MichaelsSummerSlam
(30/08/93)

Curt Hennig vs. Bret HartUncensored (15/03/98)

Kind of a disapointment for me personally, as I would rather have seen more rarities. I have most of this stuff. But it'll still be nice to see the documentary portion and I guess we should be thankful that the WWE is even releasing a DVD of Curt Hennig.

Tuesday, July 1, 2008

JUNE FLICKS

Remember when I said I was burnt out on movies? Well, it was the truth and the following list of movies that I managed to watch in June reflects that. The good news, however, is that, the burn out is starting to wear off and I'm really hoping to make a boom in July, as far as the amount of cinema I take in. So here is the list of what I managed to watch in the month of June.

-The Jacket 2005 - John Mayberry
-The Happening 2008 - M. Night Shyamalan
-Shallow Hal 2001 - Bobby & Peter Farrelly
-Pulp Fiction 1994 - Quentin Tarantino *
-Dragonfly 2002 - Tom Shadyac
-The Lost Boys 1987 - Joel Schumacher
-The Number 23 2007 - Joel Schumacher
-The Machinist 2004 - Brad Anderson
-Identity 2003 - James Mangold

And just in case you don't know (which there is no way you possibly could, since I haven't mentioned it on here, as of yet) I made a pact with myself this year to only watch movies that I've seen once or never. Any movie that I've seen more than twice has been banned for the entire year...

...UNLESS...

...It is on the IMDB Top 250 list, which me and my wife started knocking our way through before the year started and when I made this pact, I didn't want to interfere with our project to take in the 250 greatest movies, as voted by the users of the IMDB website. So if you'll notice the asterisk beside Pulp Fiction, on the list above, that indicates that I have seen that movie more than twice (way more than twice) and only watched it for Top 250 list purposes.

And on a side note, July is starting out with a bang, as I already have one movie in the books for this mont...Before the Devil Knows Your Dead

Not a bad flick, but somewhat disapointing. Did you ever go to the store, pick up a DVD that you've never seen, see who's in it and shake your head with a very approving nod. You then read the back of the case to see exactly what it's about and say "WOW, that sounds like a hell of an idea!" Well tonight, while at Blockbuster, I did the same thing with BTDKYD, and picked it up as a part of my mission to collect all of the Phillip Seymour Hoffman movies.

After seeing the movie, there is just so much more that they could've done with this movie. This movie could've been one that ripped your heart out and made you bawl your freaking eyes out. But you leave this one just thinking how sleazy most of these characters are. I really wish they had went a different route with this one, and instead of going with rough and hard edged and gritty, going with heart breaking instead. Philip Seymour Hoffman, Ethan Hawke and Albert Finney, all give great performances, and the story isn't all together lame, as it is actually told in a very sophisticated manner, jumping back and forth, to days before and after a key moment in the film, and getting every detail from the view points of all three of the main characters.

Before the Devil Knows Your Dead 6/10

Andrew
7/2/2008

Punk WINS!

So if you were able to check out RAW last night, then you saw CM Punk win the World Heavyweight Title. I think this is a bold move by the WWE, proving that they still have a little bit of balls left to go with someone new for a World title run. Do I think Punk is ready? Well he has the crowd reaction going for him. The fans are definitely into Punk and I think they are just really excited to see someone new in that picture. I mean let's face it, when you can look back over the past two years worth of pay per view main events, and see the same five or six guys, there's a definite problem. I personally am sick of seeing John Cena, Batista, Triple H, Edge, The Undertaker and Randy Orton ruling over the WWE, and I definitely think it's high time they step up to the plate and slap someone else in that spot, and see what happens. What's the worst that could happen, really? In all honesty, as nice as it is to see a new waist, wearing a World title, I can't see Punk sitting in that spot for more than a month. I'll actually take 2 weeks in the pool. Any takers?